Where Has The Time Gone?

It’s been a long journey, but my children are now both finished with elementary school and on to the adventures of middle school! Suddenly, i find myself with more time on my hands, as I am no longer a PTA Mom, but a working Mom with kids in middle school.

I’m stoked! I am looking forward to finally having enough time to again pursue creative endeavors. I can also get back to tending to my own social media. Over the past few years, I have put so much energy into consulting on, establishing, and maintaining social media for others that I haven’t wanted to touch it when I had free time. I’ve actually gotten pulled back in to gaming, online, on my phone, and actual factual tabletop games and RPGs. It’s glorious!

I threw everything into being an elementary school Mom. I wanted to be there for my kids, and to establish memories with them where they knew I was always there for them. now, they are ready for independence, and I am ready to have more time to create something other than PTA flyers and cupcakes.

I’m already in the process of planning my next children’s book project. My last endeavor produced a lovely book, but I need to go about the funding process differently next time, so i am taking a while to plan. I can’t believe, in retrospect, how many people told me I was asking for too much money to make my book! In the end, getting the materials, doing the scans, having professional layout done, getting and distributing the copies to backers, and trying to promote the book cost me money beyond what i raised. Why? Because shipping rates went up a month after my fundraiser happened, and because advertising is expensive if you want it to reach people. Next time, I know from experience that the naysayers who criticized the amount I was trying to raise didn’t know what they were talking about.

I’m also trying to get out into the world more. I was attending a writing group for a while. Lovely people, and a great thing for me. I have a short story that I am trying to perfect so I can submit it to various outlets. I’m also attempting to learn to dance.

I looked in the mirror one morning recently and said “Who is this?!” and realized that I’d spent most of the past eight years suspending my own life. Almost every motivation has been focused on the kids. While I am still devoted to them, I have begun restructuring everything so that I can be involved with the kids and provide the support they need without neglecting myself. It’s going to be a journey!

Leave a Reply

