Where is my flash drive?

At the beginning of the year, I decided that I was going to get back to writing more frequently.  The plan was to better manage my already overstuffed schedule so that I could do something I enjoy. I have managed to do this a little bit, catching up on shows I saved because I did not have time to watch them when they aired, and catching up on TV is easy to do when paired with a chore like laundry or trimming Boxtops for Education.

The book I have been working on is backed up on my flash drive.  I have a separate flash drive for my PTA work, and then one for my personal stuff.  It had been right there on my desk…so where did it go? I did a great deal of cleaning and organizing to find it, and still it has not appeared.  I have a second flash drive for my own things, and I had planned to sync the two, but I apparently only dreamed that I completed that task.  My files weren’t on my computer.  This isn’t surprising, as my computer has flipped out and had to be re-formatted more than once (By the way, Apple, THAT is why you think I have multiple devices to the extreme – you can’t seem to figure out that it is the same computer being re-registered after it capsizes…can I please have the music I paid for on my phone now?). Well, drat!

Finally, in a moment of desperation, I asked my dear husband if he had my files on his computer. Success!  The files he had were original drafts with none of the advanced chapters, editing, or re-written segments, but at least I wasn’t going to start from scratch! But, here I am, and I haven’t wanted to open those old files because I know how much needs to be done, and I just want to progress in the story, not reconstruct what had already been don elsewhere.

Perhaps this is a lesson in data backup.  Perhaps this is the universe telling me to stop fearing the Cloud, and get with the program. Perhaps, once I have re-written everything again, I will step on my missing flash drive in the middle of the night.  Regardless, I have promised myself to find the time to write, and write I shall!

Have a lovely day!

Leave a Reply

