Time to Geek Out about books!

Today, for Speak Out With Your Geek Out, I would like to brag a little bit about how lucky I am.  You see, I have the privilege of being married to the very talented and extremely awesome Aaron Rosenberg!  Not only is he fabulous in all the ways a spouse should be, he is also an extraordinary gamemaster, a talented graphic designer, and a prolific and awesome writer!

I know, I sound like I am gushing about my husband…I am, but that’s beside the point.  What I want to talk about today is my luck – because I often get to read Aaron’s works in progress before anyone else.  He frequently shows me the cover designs he is working on for different books. He bounces ideas off of me for RPG concepts.  He’s even let me map out dungeons based on his descriptions a couple times! So, what I want to speak n’ geek about today is the fact that I have these wonderful opportunities to see these things being created, and to watch that creative process in action.  I love the fact that my feedback is valued, even on the occasions that I am just checking for any typos (he rarely has any).

But somehow, despite my usual enviable position as a beta reader for Aaron’s work, I never saw The Birth of the Dread Remora while it was in production! So I am now getting the wonderful opportunity to read one of his finished works without having seen the beginning stages. This is so cool! I am really enjoying the book so far, too – it’s fast-paces, exciting, and a lot of fun!  I don’t know how I missed the creative process for this one – probably due to being back in school and having to read for class, actually.  I like getting to read something fresh and new like this! I’ll be sure to post more about it when I finish reading.

Those of you who follow me on Goodreads know that I am often reading more than one book at a time.  My typical setup is to have a physical book for when I am up and about, an e-book to read when I can’t sleep, and a non-fiction book to read when I find the time.  So, right now I am also reading A Dance With Dragons, and enjoying it immensely! While it isn’t as fast-paced as book three of a Song of Ice and Fire, book five is really interesting in how it is bringing everything together. I haven’t yet gotten to the point where everything converges again, so I am anxiously awaiting that point! There are several characters whose fates I must discover!

I finished reading Bonk by Mary Roach, and haven’t yet selected another non-fiction piece because I am busy pulling together a final paper for my Philosophy class.  I love Roach’s style, and the way she is so inquisitive, how she weaves humor into the information, and how she just seems like such an awesome, intelligent person!

So, yes, my absolute favorite thing to geek out about is what I am reading…and what my daughter is reading! I am so proud of the Pixie, because she has devoured the Chronicles of Narnia and is now reading Howl’s Moving Castle! She is thrilled about obtaining a library card, and when I put the first three Harry Potter books on her shelf, she did a Snoopy dance!

Clearly, the apple did not fall far from the tree.

As I recently mentioned on Twitter, I realized not too long ago that I know my library card number by heart, but not my credit card number.

Hooray for books, for they are awesome and should be enjoyed!

Leave a Reply

